Flemington Speedway Historical Society Inc. (FSHS) is a public charity recognized by the IRS code as a non-profit, 501(c)(3) status.

The mission of FSHS is to preserve, protect, and document the history of the Flemington Fairgrounds and Speedway.

Your contributions are appreciated and tax deductible. 

Honored, thus far: Al Tasnady  (inaugural); Paul Kuhl (2013); Billy Pauch (2013); Stan Ploski (2014); Bill Singer  (2014);  Ace Lane Sr. (2014); Ken Brenn Sr. (2014); Sammy Beavers (2014); Jackie McLaughlin (2015); Ken Brenn Jr. (2015); Glenn Fitzcharles (2015); Jim Horton Sr. (2015); Gerald Chamberlain (2016); Budd Olsen (2016); Ace Lane Jr. (2016); Bob Pickell (2016)

The 2016 Tas Award Nominees, Presented Alphabetically:

Jackie Bergstresser Phillipsburg, NJ b - d

John Blewett III Howell, NJ b1973 - d2007

Kenny Brightbill Shillington, PA b1949

Buck Buckley Kennett Square, PA, b1951

Gerald Chamberlain Everett, PA b1940

Phil Cox Flemington, NJ b1960

Paul Deasey Hatboro, PA b1925

Harry Dee Piscataway, NJ b - d2005

Fritz Epright Whitehouse Station, NJ b1957

Les Farley Glen Gardner, NJ b19 - d19

Newt Hartman Flagtown, NJ b1949

Dick Havens Doylestown, PA, b - d

Doug Hoffman Allentown, PA, b1959 - d2012

Dick Ivins Trenton, NJ b1928 - d2008

Lester “Lucky” Jordan Riverton, NJ b - d

Bill Kinnamon Flemington, NJ b - d

Wendy Kennedy Flemington, NJ b

John “Ace” Lane Jr. Passaic, NJ b1949

Budd Olsen Paulsboro, NJ b1924 - d1991

Billy Osmun Asbury, NJ b1944

Mike O’Shea Trenton(?), NJ b19

Bob Pickell Flemington, NJ b1934 - d2012

Dave Piscopo Morrisville, PA b1923 - d2010

Ira Vail Brooklyn, NY b1893 - d1979


Honoring Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons, the inaugural recipient was Al Tasnady, and the award was renamed to honor him.

Voting for ten nominees gives a better chance for more of them to reach the two-thirds criteria, and allows for a truly democratic result.  While all candidates are worthy,  it’s who FSHS’s membership agrees are the most worthy that will be honored Saturday night, January 16, 2016.

Voting Criteria:

1.) the supreme nature of the nominee’s accomplishments at (or for) Flemington Speedway

2.) the nominee’s primary identification with Flemington Speedway

3.) the consistency and duration of the nominee’s Flemington Speedway performance and service

4.) the nominee’s enthusiastic and enduring support of Flemington Speedway, professionally and personally

5.) the long term effects, beyond statistics, of the nominee’s influence on Flemington Speedway

How the Vote Works: Only current dues-paying members of FSHS are eligible to vote. Voters should take the time to learn about each nominee, and consider their Flemington career against the voting criteria. Note this is not a “Most Popular Persons” ballot. Each vote is an important privilege, and should be used for the worthiest nominees.  

The top five vote-getters receiving at least 67% (a two thirds majority) of votes from this ballot will be recognized with their own Tas Award. In the unlikely event no nominee receives 67% of the vote, a provisional yes/no vote will be held for the single highest vote-getter. 

The twenty-five nominees for the 2016 Flemington Speedway’s Most Influential Persons Award ballot are listed below, alphabetically.

Flemington Speedway Historical Society Inc.

PO Box 1003

Flemington, NJ 08822


©2016 Flemington Speedway Historical Society

design: David Garboskimailto:garboski@me.com?subject=fshsmailto:garboski@me.com?subject=fshsshapeimage_1_link_0
Executive BoardExecutiveBoard.html
The Tas Award
email  usmailto:info@flemingtonspeedwayhistoricalsociety.com?subject=FSHS%20inquiry
Patrons Mission.html